inspiration · personal experiences

Life is a trap: the problem with the current system.

You all know that feeling when you just got out of high school: “Hell yea, I’m gonna go to college, graduate, work all day long, get money, find a bae, and live happily ever after with 3 beautiful children.”

It’s just seriously a weird sudden burst of energy and motivation, thinking that after going to college, you’d know EXACTLY what you’re going to do for the rest of your life. This goes with the thought that after graduating, you’d be getting a well-paying job and that you would love that job forever.

Let me tell you something. There are two major problems.

#1 – Going to College.
Whoa, hold on. I am not saying that going to college is wrong. The right or wrongness of going to college depends on the student’s motivation. If you are going to college to blatantly get a good job to maximize income because other people did it and became rich, then you’re wasting your time – as well as tens of thousands of dollars. I’m in engineering school and you’d be surprised how many people get into engineering JUST because they saw other people had gotten rich because of an engineering degree. You’d also be surprised how many people think that a graduation diploma (aka a paper that says that you are not an idiot) is enough to be a successful person.

The purpose of going to college should be to get a better understanding of whats going on in the universe. When someone you know goes into a certain career path and is successful, it doesn’t mean that the path is the only journey to success. You don’t have to work in an oil company to be successful. You don’t have to be in the banking industry to be successful. Heck, if the world were a completely monolithic system when it comes to achieving success, why do we have Bill Gates (success in computer technology), Warren Buffet (success in stocks), Channel (success in fashion), Angelina Jolie (success in acting), etc. who each succeed in different areas of life?

#2 – Getting a Job
Let me tell you about jobs.

Day 1: OH MY FREAKIN YEAH I LOVE MY JOB IM GONNA BE THE EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH EVERY MONTH
Day 7: I. LOVE. MY. JOB. MY BOSS IS FREAKING NICE. I LOVE PEOPLE AND I LOVE EVERYTHING.
Day 14: Yep still lovin it.
Day 21: Well at least I get paid.
Day 30: Meh.
After that: MY BOSS IS FREAKING STUPID, I SHOULD GET PAID MORE, WHEN AM I GETTING MY PAY RAISE?? MY CO-WORKERS ARE IDIOTS. I AM STUCK WITH THIS DAMN JOB.

That timeline was just an approximation. I usually burst in flames and want to quit within first week. My belief in the relationship between humans and white-collar jobs got to the point that when people tell me they love their job, I tell them “wait for it” (in my own head of course). I mean come on, you’re basically saying you LOVE turning in paperwork, making progress reports, and handling annoying customers?? Please, don’t lie to yourself.

I am not saying it’s impossible to love work. There are indeed a lot of people who stay in their jobs for decades and are still motivated. My theory: they were doing it since they were 10 years old. It’s weird how we know more about who we truly are when we were just kids. As children, we only focus on doing what we LOVE to do without thinking about what the world expects from you. Growing up, we live in a world where we HAVE to follow what’s “ideal:” going to college and getting a real technical job that we might not necessarily like.

Most of the successful people today are successful because they were doing what they’re doing since young, and they have genuinely loved it ever since. Bill Gates had his own business when he was 15, Steve Wozniak had been interested in computers since he was 3, and Warren Buffet bought his first stock when he was 11 (he, by the way, refused to go to college). Steve Jobs always said that “the only way to do great work is to love what you do.” I am convinced that other external factors such as, wonderful teammates, great working conditions, and great salary are irrelevant when it comes to loving work.

I wrote a long post. This is how you know I am stressed in life.

Goodbye.

Leave a Reply

