Uncategorized

Greenbelt, MD – Grateful

In the beginning, my experience here was horrible. I was in a very dirty apartment, inconsiderate roommates, as well as a room I could barely breathe in. On top of that, I am annoyed by the fact that the person whom I was closest to at the time was extremely superstitious, hypocritical, and lacked common sense. I know, I know, it is definitely not my place to say those things, but what I knew was that I could not bear being in that place.

A few weeks later though, I was moved to a much cleaner apartment. The new roommate I had was extremely chatty; but nonetheless, she was wonderful. I also met a very VERY good friend whom I share my love of K-pop with. I’ve only known her for a little over 2 months and I am so grateful to have known her in my life. She is 5 years older than me. What I like about her is that she is a fun-loving person. Rarely shows stress (even though she is most of the time). She seems comfortable in her own skin. And is not afraid to give advice. There are many things that I have learned from her. But the most prominent one is: it is okay to depend on one another.

All my life, it has been so hard for me to acknowledge that I need help. Mostly because growing up, I was always taught that needing help is a sign of weakness. It meant that you could not be independent. If anything, you were useless. But in reality, those who seek help are often the strongest. Sometimes it is as necessary to put faith in others as in yourself. It is OKAY to need other people in your life! 

Not only that, I am grateful to know that getting out of here, I have a job that I can go to. I am extremely lucky to be reached out by a company in Lubbock. And I cannot wait to go back to Lubbock.

Despite the stresses I have now, including the stress that comes with a new job, I am very lucky. I am lucky to be a live and lucky to have a decent life.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

